My intention was to leave around  11 a.m., after trimming  the unruly artemesia and heavily pruning a very robust ,nasty, thorny  lime tree.   Always think THORNLESS when planting citrus.  I really wasn’t sure if this tree would make it when I planted it and by gosh it is so happy, but wow is it vicious.  I thought about removing it, but I am just trimming it into a balinese dancer…

Oh, back to the plan about leaving early; well the  irrigation pump had another idea and this little 1/4″ tube connected by brass fittings decided to pop a leak. I was very intimidated by it and first tried tying a rag and taping it.  Ha ha ha. So off to the hardware store to get a mending clamp…spent five dollars jimmy rigging something and sure enough it didn’t work…The reason I was intimidated by a real repair is that I have never primed the pump before and was trying to avoid having to shut it down.  Back to the hardware store to buy the real parts,…after I took it apart to reveal the real parts. Knee deep in mud, upside down using a big wrench and little fingers… I can’t believe it….I did it.  I even primed the pump…after several different variations of attempts. But now I have water again and can leave knowing that the pump can be turned on while I’m away.    I guess timing is everything, …because this repair would not have been possible if Josh,before he headed out for a mountain bike  adventure, had not  installed a turn off valve to the water intake to the pump just last week.   Without that turn off valve, I would have been up one dry creek.  Whew.

Yesterday, I had some fading peaches; so I decided to make a quick little jam. I really like using brown sugar.  Skinned, depitted, sliced the peaches, added brown sugar and left to a very slow simmer…Oops not slow enough…it overcooked, it even burned a little tiny bit…So I immediately removed any crispy edges, transferred all to new container.   Surprisingly, it is actually quite tasty, definitely edgy.  The brown sugar made it carmel-like. So as a treat for my pump repair, and seeing as it is about 100 degrees outside,  I am sitting down to a bowl of vanilla ice cream and carmel peach sauce.  Refreshing on a hot day like this, when just sweet ,can be too much.

Thanks to Aranga for getting this blog and the BeeGreen Website up and going!

The blessed shut off valve that Josh installed

The blessed shut off valve that Josh installed

The pesky little tube that sprang a leak

The pesky little tube that sprang a leak

There will be water

There will be water

